The African Engineering and Technology Network (Afretec) is a pan-African collaboration of technology-focused universities from across the African continent. The creation of Afretec is a defining moment for the digital transformation of Africa. The network will build a strong knowledge creation and educational infrastructure on the continent. It will also provide a platform for its members to engage in deep collaboration that drives inclusive digital growth in Africa.

The network, currently in the foundational stage of development, will be made up of ten technology-focused universities. At the moment, the network includes Carnegie Mellon University Africa, The American University in Cairo University of Lagos, University of Nairobi, University of Rwanda, and University of the Witwatersrand.

The AFRETEC Health Cluster envisions itself as a beacon of healthcare innovation,in AFRETEC member universities, eventually, across the entire African continent.

This transoformation will be achieved by conducting impact-oriented research that leverages ICT and AI technology for healthcare solutions. The aim is to develop research-driven innovations that prioritize affordability, sustainability, equity, inclusivity, and context-specificity. These innovations are expected to accelerate progress toward the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).


latest posts